What is TPS?

Woman wearing a blue and yellow shawl

With the uncertainty of safety around the world, it is no surprise that coming to the United States has been a wish for many. Thousands of people are currently in the U.S. looking to stay away from the danger in their home country. United States Congress and the Department of Homeland Security have recognized the instability of a number of nations and created pathways for people from these countries to remain in the U.S. without the threat of being deported. One such path is known as Temporary Protected Status (TPS).

How Do You Qualify for TPS?

It is up to the Secretary of Homeland Security to assign TPS to a foreign country. This status is usually reserved for countries where residents are currently experiencing conditions such as:

  • Civil war or another ongoing armed hostile situation;
  • Natural disasters such as a hurricane or earthquake; and,
  • A different extraordinary, temporary condition is going on in the foreign country.

When the Secretary of Homeland Security designates a country for TPS, those from a selected country who have been in the U.S. on or before the designated date may qualify for this classification.

This also means that individuals from those designated countries cannot be removed from the U.S., are eligible for a work permit (Employment Authorization Document), and may apply for travel authorization.

Who is Currently Eligible for TPS?

This type of eligibility changes frequently, so it’s best to check the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services’ website to see which countries are eligible. As of April 2022, individuals from the following countries are eligible for TPS if they have continuously resided in the United States since the designated date:

  • Afghanistan (Mar. 15, 2022)
  • Burma (Myanmar) (Mar. 11, 2021)
  • Cameroon (Apr. 14, 2022)
  • El Salvador (Feb. 13, 2001)
  • Haiti (Jul. 29, 2021)
  • Honduras (Dec. 30, 1998)
  • Nepal (Jun. 24, 2015)
  • Nicaragua (Dec. 30, 1998)
  • Somalia (Jul. 19, 2021)
  • South Sudan (Mar. 1, 2022)
  • Sudan (Mar. 1, 2022)
  • Syria (Mar. 19, 2021)
  • Ukraine (Apr. 11, 2022)
  • Venezuela (Mar. 8, 2021)
  • Yemen (Jul. 5, 2021)

Each country has a different time period that their TPS is valid. It’s critical for immigrants from these countries who are currently in the U.S. to take the necessary steps to remain eligible for residency in the U.S. after the TPS ends.

Where Can I Get Started?

Before filling out any paperwork, it’s best to talk to an experienced immigration attorney who can guide you through your situation. Every immigration case is unique and that’s why the knowledgeable attorneys at Murray Osorio PLLC are ready to help you. Many of our lawyers have personal experience of the immigration process and understand the complexity of the process.

Contact us online or by phone today to get started — (800) 929-7142

Related Posts
  • Temporary Protected Status (TPS): Eligibility & Renewal Process Read More
  • TPS Announced for Venezuelans Read More
  • Ninth Circuit to Allow Termination of TPS for Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador Read More