Travel Restrictions for Foreign Nationals


Beginning Friday, March 13, 2020 at 11:59EST, all travel to and from Europe’s Schengen Area by foreign nationals will be suspended until further notice. This is an effort by President Trump to control the spread of the COVID-19 coronavirus. United States citizens, lawful permanent residents, and their spouses and children are exempt from this restriction. Parents, guardians and minor siblings (under 21) of U.S. citizens or permanent residents under the age of 21 are exempt as well.

Foreign nationals who have been in the Schengen Area (an area of Europe comprising 26 states) at any point during the preceding 14 days before their scheduled arrival to the United States will not be allowed entry into the United States after this proclamation comes into effect. This includes:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

This new ban is in addition to the existing travel restrictions, which prohibit foreign nationals who have visited China or Iran in the past 14 days from entering the United States.

For more information about COVID-19 generally, please see the CDC’s website. If you have any questions about how this impacts your immigration case, please contact Murray Osorio PLLC.

Related Posts
  • COVID-19 and I-9 Compliance Read More
  • USCIS Fee Increase on October 2, 2020 Read More
  • E-2 Treaty Investor Visa is “safe” under the latest U.S. Immigration Ban issued on June 22, 2020 Read More